Day 4: Part 1

Saturday May 2 Day 4

Day 4: Part 1

We get into our room just after 5 am, I wake Bestie up and we each pack our overnight bags. Today we are going to Kyoto via Bullet Train, and I skip a great view of Mt. Fuji to catch up on some sleep. Arrival time is right around lunch so we head straight for food after leaving the station, which by the way almost never happened.

When we get off the train I’m groggy from sleep and get lazy with my outfit selection, forgetting I’m wearing a long dress and kicks. Considering that I buy long dresses with the intent to rock a 6-inch heel, there is a lot more dress to manage in flats. Back in the train station, I’m heading down the escalator, and at the half way point Bestie and I both notice that I’m caught. We frantically begin yanking at the dress to free it and me because I am 3 seconds away from being eaten whole. In 0.5 seconds that dress was coming off, it was hiked up to my waist when Bestie finally broke me lose. We shared a laugh over how “Workplace Safety Video” it felt. The moral of this story is, when wearing a long dress and kicks, take the elevator.

Right, lunch! We dash across the street and I grab some curry Udon that tastes just like something my mom would make, a welcomed reminder of home. Little did I know that this would be the last enjoyable meal of the day, maybe I’d have taken a To Go bag.

After our meal, we head on a coach to Suntory Brewery for a tour. Might I note, at this point it has become apparent that the majority of students on our trip have been on a beer tour since we landed. The Suntory Brewery seemed like a perfect compliment to our already intoxicated team. To add to the laughs, the MC of our tour is a tiny woman closer to the floor than not, that spoke in a very high-pitched Japanese. Only Japanese. We had an English-speaking guide with us but she was not allowed to translate during the tour. At the end everyone got to sample the stock. I cheersed with my alcohol free and watched the show.

Being a somewhat chill day in comparison to our pace thus far, Bestie decides it would be nice to experience a traditional Japanese meal. Since Kyoto is not a town known necessarily for its nightlife, Roomie and I agree. Our guide gives us a recommendation and reservations are set for 7 pm sharp.

Yep, another Two Part day.

Leave a comment